Xbox 360 help

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Secksy, Jul 29, 2008.

  1. Secksy
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,986
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Texas
    My 360 an my Laptop are connected to the same network (wired connections). My 360 can't find my computer.

    I was trying to use Windows Media Player media share, but I have no idea how to connect the two through the router.

    Speedy replies are appreciated <3
     
  2. kinetic medic
    Veteran Camelot Unchained Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,684
    Likes Received:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    SQA Engineer
    Location:
    Borderline Masshole
    Again, Tveristy! Check it out!

    -KM
     
  3. Secksy
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,986
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Texas
    Tried it. It couldn't find the Xbox.

    :p

    My computer can't connect to anything over the network other than the internet.
     
  4. Zarash
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,338
    Likes Received:
    3
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Ontario
    Do you have to connect your Xbox directly to your computer to make it work, I read the support site and thats what it sounds like you have to do
     
  5. aroton
    Guest

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City
    First off what OS do you have?

    Secondly, when you start your xbox and your pc is on, something should pop up and tell you that the box is trying to access the computer, you have to allow the box to see your computer from the computer.

    Third, if you have vista you have to go activate a few things in the network settings. By default file sharing/printersharing is turned off. Regardless of if you have media share on if you have file sharing off it will not work.

    Fourth, If you cant connect to anything from your laptop you may have firewall issues.

    Without more details it is hard to tell you a good solution.
     
  6. Secksy
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,986
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Texas
    I have XP.

    And I don't get any boxes saying it's trying to connect.

    As a note, I can get on Xbox live just fine. I also turn off my firewall everytime.
     
  7. aroton
    Guest

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City
    Does your PC detect your xbox?

    if you go into tools->options->library->configure sharing
    Does an xbox show up?

    If so go into settings(at the media sharing) and click the box at the bottom that says "Allow new devices and computers automatically"
     
  8. Brownmccoy
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,149
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Halifax, NS, Canada
    Very quick question... do you use a router? This has been confusing me since the initial post.
     
  9. Secksy
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,986
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Texas
    si.

    Go to tools from where? o0
     
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2008
  10. Tribat
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    11
    Occupation:
    Geek Squad Supervisor (Best Buy)
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    This was a long time ago and I'm shooting from the hip but I think I remember something about this. I think you have to have windows media connect. How to acquire or install that is on you. Here's the wiki:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Windows_Media_Connect
     
  11. Secksy
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,986
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Texas
    I've given up. I've tried Media Connect before too, it doesn't do anything.

    What ever, not worth the stress.

    So, since I've already tried to use WMP, I'll assume it doesn't work.
     

Share This Page