Warhammer performance issues

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Frakus, Sep 17, 2008.

  1. Frakus
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    Is anyone that is in the CE/SE having some major stuttering/lag issues? I didn't play in OB after the last patch and before that I was ok at least nothing to scream about but since the last patch my game is very unjoyable to play. Its kinda frustrating to try and play when I am lagging and stuttering all over the place and to play a healer its almost impossible since my reaction time is tripled with the slowness now. I have been reading all the forums I can find and I see others are having the same issues but I guess should pick the brains of some of the elder Warhammer players to see if anyone has a work around.

    System Specs:
    Intel Dou Core 3.16ghz
    4 gigs ram
    8800GT 512 video card
    Video/audio drivers all updated.
     
  2. Gyuniku
    Guest

    My game lags like a mofo. Really, sometimes to the point of totally unplayable. This includes questing and RvR. Scenarios get so bad sometimes that I'll be healing 3 people, and lock up, unfreeze and see all of us dead. I get 4GB of RAM today and a nVidia 9800GTX, so we'll see if that helps. :(

    Pentium D 3.0
    2GB RAM
    ATI 2600XT
     
  3. Aerthan
    Guest

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    2
    Actually I've found the lag to be a lot better on the live server, I can really only remember a 5 minute or so lag spike just as all the greenskins were logging in for the first time. You seem to have a pretty nice rig do you have problems running any other games?
     
  4. Frakus
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    No problems with other games why this is so frustrating. Looking on warhammeralliance.com forums seems tons of people with nice rigs are having major performance issues. Some are stating that the game is only using 20-40% of thier GPU and maxing thier cpu which is wrong. I am at work and can not troubleshoot anymore right now just disappointing that the game is about unplayable and it wasn't this bad in ob.
     
  5. Frakus
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    After looking through the forums tonight I saw that people that were experiencing stutering was caused by being in a large guild and when a person logs off or logs on the guild roster is rebuilt from scratch causing performance issues. Curse gaming has a mod right now that stops the rebuilding only if you open the guild roster tab. When I get home in 2 hrs I may have to try that out and see if that helps any.
     
  6. Retsah
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    1
    Let us know if that helps out Frakus. I get some stutters on occasion that can get quite annoying as well.
     
  7. Frakus
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    I have not tried the mod yet but I did delete my old cache folder and turned off both checkmarks in video options for full screen and framed window. Also made my resolution match my desktops resolution and I have better performance but still running into lag issues. I will keep checking and hopefully I get it resolved soon, last night I just crafted since I was frustrated trying to do a pq with the game almost unplayable.
     
  8. Rawyt
    Guest

    scenerios still are terrible for me but after just switching to " balanced " everything else seems pretty fair ( other than the two crash to desk top today that is )
    every so often I get a slight stall but nothing like some of the earlier beta runs ..
    Definitely not as smooth as the other games I play though .
     
  9. Kaybek
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,447
    Likes Received:
    7
    Occupation:
    Solutions Architect
    Location:
    Texas
    Something that can help with performance is running in windowed mode at the same resolution as you would for full screen mode.

    Another thing that has helped people a lot is to make some changes under "User Settings" to turn off player names, etc. In the massive keep battle we had out in Ostland this past weekend I know that those quick changes dramatically improved perfomance for a bunch of folks.
     
  10. Gyuniku
    Guest

    Good call on hiding the names, totally forgot about that.
     
  11. Switching off player/enemy/mob names and titles, etc., did help my framerate, but I'm still ineffective in scenarios and pqs due to lag. So gogo questing 'til upgrades. blah.
     
  12. Rawyt
    Guest

    well ,
    hopefully someone has an idea on this..
    didn't have this prob in beta but since I got back in game .
    (I use windows xp pack3, geforce 6600 newest driver) ..
    I'll be turning & suddenly the screen goes gray ,
    I'll see models from the zone along the top ,
    then it goes to black .
    I can hit esc & it will kinda bring me back for a little bit
    I then have to exit game & start over ...
    I have the game set for fastest framerate .

    * shrug *
    making me crazy : /
     

Share This Page