New Setup

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Panacea, Jan 11, 2009.

  1. Panacea
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    816
    Likes Received:
    2
    Occupation:
    Marketing Assistant
    Location:
    London, United Kingdom
    Just started ordering for my new setup, here's what I've decided to roll with.

    Case
    Lian Li PC P80R ATI Special Edition (Yeh I know a ATI case with nVidia inside, but it looks so cool)

    Motherboard
    Asus Rampage II Extreme

    CPU
    Intel i7 965XE 3.2Ghz

    RAM
    6GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 1600Mhz 8-8-8-24

    GPU
    1792MB XFX GTX295 2000Mhz

    HDDs
    150GB WD VelociRaptor 10,000RPM (Gonna run 2 of these on RAID0)

    Soundcard
    Creative XFi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion

    PSU
    Tagan Modular 1300W

    Monitor
    Samsung 24" HDMI Widescreen 20000:1 5MS

    Let me know what you think.
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2009
  2. dr_jay
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Dirty Jerz
    You probably can save quite a bit by going with the 920 instead of the 965. With the liquid cooling you'll easily be able to OC the 920 to reach 965 speeds.
     
  3. Panacea
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    816
    Likes Received:
    2
    Occupation:
    Marketing Assistant
    Location:
    London, United Kingdom
    I don't know anything about OC'ing and don't feel comfortable doing it either, my friend fucked up his whole PC he spent about 5K on because he OC'd it too much or something.
     
  4. Kyoji
    Staff Member Admin

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,194
    Likes Received:
    183
    Location:
    Indiana, U.S.
    make sure your RAM is tri-channel

    i7 loves 6 gigs.

    unless your going tri-sli for a major rig water cooling is a pain to manage at times.
     
  5. Panacea
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    816
    Likes Received:
    2
    Occupation:
    Marketing Assistant
    Location:
    London, United Kingdom
    Why would I get 6 gigs of ram for a OS that can only support 4 gigs.
     
  6. Frag
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Fritch Texas
    xp 64 will recognize all the ram.
     
  7. Panacea
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    816
    Likes Received:
    2
    Occupation:
    Marketing Assistant
    Location:
    London, United Kingdom
  8. mercsan
    Veteran Crowfall Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,461
    Likes Received:
    0
    All that stuff and you come out with an LG Monitor, Panacea....wtf?

    Here you go:

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16824001280

    a Real monitor, not to mention, the Best monitor on the market right now. If you are gaming, Samsung or nothing at all. Once you go samsung, trust me, you will NEVER go back
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2009
  9. Talon
    Guest

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Gotta go with Merc on this one(Damnit) for the purposes of gaming don't skimp on the monitor, you'll find you get a lot of ghosting and slower response times.
     
  10. Frag
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Fritch Texas
    The board will run the ram but it will be underclocked to the boards stock settings. The ram is stated to run that speed in an overclocked environment. IE<> Taking your cpu clock up also brings your ram speed up depending on the multiplier. If your not going to overclock then buy some ram thats rated at that speed and runs low latencies..--> http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820145224
     
  11. Kyoji
    Staff Member Admin

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,194
    Likes Received:
    183
    Location:
    Indiana, U.S.
    have to agree with tetsu on this one too...I got myself a 22" Samsung 2ms monitor a while back and it works find and has an awesome refresh rate.

    frag is correct.

    this RAM or

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820145222

    would be good. Try and go for 1600 rather than the lowe end versions. The dominator RAM is nice if you can OC, otherwise you can get the other RAM.
     
  12. Frag
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Fritch Texas
    I chose that ram because of the lower latencies. 8-8-8-24 as opposed to 9-9-9-24. Lower = faster.
     
  13. Panacea
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    816
    Likes Received:
    2
    Occupation:
    Marketing Assistant
    Location:
    London, United Kingdom
    Gonna be going over it all again tonight, finalize some stuff.

    Thanks for all the advice, especially Mercsan for the monitor suggestion, didn't realise there was another 10000:1 monitor out there, let alone a HDMI one, definately getting that. Much <3
     
  14. Panacea
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    816
    Likes Received:
    2
    Occupation:
    Marketing Assistant
    Location:
    London, United Kingdom
    Updated the list, here's what I'm going to be rolling with now.

    Case
    Lian Li PC P80R ATI Special Edition (Yeh I know a ATI case with nVidia inside, but it looks so cool)

    Motherboard
    Asus Rampage II Extreme

    CPU
    Intel i7 965XE 3.2Ghz

    RAM
    6GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 1600Mhz 8-8-8-24

    GPU
    1792MB XFX GTX295 2000Mhz

    HDDs
    150GB WD VelociRaptor 10,000RPM (Gonna run 2 of these on RAID0)

    Soundcard
    Creative XFi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion

    PSU
    Tagan Modular 1300W

    Monitor
    Samsung 24" HDMI Widescreen 20000:1 5MS

    Comes to £3193.17 ($4,731.66) total.
     
  15. Kyoji
    Staff Member Admin

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,194
    Likes Received:
    183
    Location:
    Indiana, U.S.
    I like lian li, although expensive little son of a bitch...they are generally HUGE.

    no need to add timings etc, as OCing isnt hard on an i7 to an extent.

    just remember to keep your voltages set on that RAM so you don't burn out your CPU.

    If your water cooling you can do some harsh ocing, but air is all you will need to make it into a beast IMO.

    the PSU seems like a bargain buy PSU...I would go with something different. As I mentioned before Ultra X3 has a nice 1600 watt psu as well as a 1000 watt one. More expensive obviously.
     
  16. Panacea
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    816
    Likes Received:
    2
    Occupation:
    Marketing Assistant
    Location:
    London, United Kingdom
    I won't go with anything else other than Tagan, and 1300W is more than enough.

    I'm sticking with air not water cooling, probably gonna OC to 4.3-4.5
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2009
  17. Kyoji
    Staff Member Admin

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,194
    Likes Received:
    183
    Location:
    Indiana, U.S.
    suit yourself, don't blame me if it breaks. :p

    1000 watts is more than enough.
     
  18. Panacea
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    816
    Likes Received:
    2
    Occupation:
    Marketing Assistant
    Location:
    London, United Kingdom
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2009
  19. mercsan
    Veteran Crowfall Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,461
    Likes Received:
    0
    Get on vent so I can give you some more info on monitors and other things
     
  20. The Cox
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    5,898
    Likes Received:
    13
    yeah I kind of wish I didn't go with dual 19" monitors, yeah I like it, but I would rather have a nice fat widescreen now. Although the space I am working with the 2 monitors work nicely as it is split down the middle.

    Anyways, nice setup man. Looks good.
     

Share This Page