Installed 7 some issues I need help with

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by The Cox, Jan 14, 2009.

  1. The Cox
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    5,898
    Likes Received:
    13
    Well, I formatted my C:\ drive since it had my Vista partition on it and I didn't want vista anymore since I only used D:\ for XP.

    I installed 7 on C:\ and it runs pretty smooth and everything, however, my D:\ drive is still there, but I don't get the choice when starting up my computer to select it.

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. kinetic medic
    Veteran Camelot Unchained Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,679
    Likes Received:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    SQA Engineer
    Location:
    Borderline Masshole
    congradulations, you need to edit your bootloader! there was some decent app somewhere that was good at that.... google that sorta stuff....
     
  3. The Cox
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    5,898
    Likes Received:
    13
    Yeah so far I kind of like it. Pretty awesome. We will see how it does for gaming though.
     
  4. The Cox
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    5,898
    Likes Received:
    13
    If it only says this, when I go into system configuration, am I screwed?
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Erock
    Veteran Crowfall Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Messages:
    2,742
    Likes Received:
    21
    Occupation:
    Sales / Hockey
    Location:
    LI, NY , USA
    hmmmm i think you might be screwed if its all on 1 hard drive if it isnt you can just boot up the other hard drive no?
     
  6. The Cox
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    5,898
    Likes Received:
    13
    Well thats the thing, I had 2 partitions, C: and D: C: had Vista, D: had my XP partition.

    When I installed 7, I formatted the C: drive which was vista, because I no longer wanted Vista. But I can still access D: from Windows 7. It still shows in Disk Management as a Healthy (Logical Drive) Where as the C: one now says (System, Boot, Page File, Active, Crash DUmp, Primary Partition)

    So I have no idea.
     
  7. Erock
    Veteran Crowfall Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Messages:
    2,742
    Likes Received:
    21
    Occupation:
    Sales / Hockey
    Location:
    LI, NY , USA
    hmmmm i dont know

    i just have vista as my c and windows 7 as my h right now (i just installed 7 like 2 hours ago and loving it) so much faster :)
     
  8. The Cox
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    5,898
    Likes Received:
    13
    Same, but I went from XP to 7. Could it be because C: is my primary? And I formatted it?

    Iirc, when my friends helped me set up my rig, I think they made the primary drive Vista on the C: drive.

    Could this be the issue?
     
  9. Erock
    Veteran Crowfall Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Messages:
    2,742
    Likes Received:
    21
    Occupation:
    Sales / Hockey
    Location:
    LI, NY , USA
    i made a partition on the vista drive for 25 gig separate

    do you have 2 separate drives or 2 separate partitions?
     
  10. Terror Nova
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    890
    Likes Received:
    1
    This
     
  11. The Cox
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    5,898
    Likes Received:
    13
    Before I did anything, I had One hard drive with TWO partitions. One contained Vista to boot into, the other contained XP.

    Since installing 7, I no longer have the option to select XP, seeing as how there is now only ONE boot in system config.



    On another note, how the hell do you enable mic boost in 7?
     
  12. kinetic medic
    Veteran Camelot Unchained Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,679
    Likes Received:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    SQA Engineer
    Location:
    Borderline Masshole
    cox, BOOTLOADER, google for a tool to readd the XP. Vista and XP don't share the same bootloader and don't like each other without special help.
     
  13. The Cox
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    5,898
    Likes Received:
    13
    yeah but I never had this issue before when installing xp.. so would I have this issue now?
     
  14. kinetic medic
    Veteran Camelot Unchained Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,679
    Likes Received:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    SQA Engineer
    Location:
    Borderline Masshole
    *Clear throat cause the message is clearly getting through garbled* BECAUSE VISTA AND 7 USE A NEW BOOTLOADER!!!!

    -KM
     
  15. swifthawk
    Veteran Crowfall Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    6
    /smack should of just had it upgrade!!

    i will look and see what i can find.
     
  16. Molotof
    Guest

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    4
    Occupation:
    Sr. Systems Administrator
    Location:
    San Francisco
    lol KM

    upgrade IS NEVER a good idea. with any OS. clean install is always the way to go. upgrades bring in far too many issues.
     
  17. The Cox
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    5,898
    Likes Received:
    13
    Well now that I know it uses a different boot loader, I guess I will see how to fix it then.
     
  18. Talon
    Guest

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    I imagine you put vista on first, which allows it to manage the bootloader. Once you formated that drive you deleted the bootloader information that knew about the XP boot partition. Here is something that may help
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/919529
     
  19. Erock
    Veteran Crowfall Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Messages:
    2,742
    Likes Received:
    21
    Occupation:
    Sales / Hockey
    Location:
    LI, NY , USA
    what talon said above sounds spot on
     
  20. The Cox
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    5,898
    Likes Received:
    13
    I think you are right Kaz, as my friends installed Vista first on my computer then split it into an XP partition after Vista was done.

    Thanks for the info.

    Edit:

    Wow just read that... I feel really dumb... lol... I guess I am going to have to go over it again to see if I can make heads or tails of it.
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2009

Share This Page