For the love of god, please help...

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by The Cox, Aug 28, 2008.

  1. The Cox
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    5,898
    Likes Received:
    13
    I am at my wits ends here. Last night as I was playing some cod4 and TF2, I saw that my usage kept jumping between 15% - 86% but then it would drop back down, and yadda yadda. I saw that my PF usage was about 1.17GB and that it almost used all of it.

    Anyways, I meant to scan like I normally do with Malwarebytes Anti Malware but I forgot, and shut the computer down. Well I turned it on this morning, and now it is doing it again, the whole 100% cpu usage even though when I do get the Task manager to show up in XP, it says it has 0% usage.

    So I run in Vista the Malwarebytes and check both the hard drive partitions and it shows up nothing. Before when I had this same issue, it showed up 2 trojans named servauth1.dll and servauth2.dll. And still AVG did not catch either of these. Anyways, before when I removed it, everything seemed to work fine.

    So now I get into safe mode with networking, and I post my HJT log on a website I usually go to, to fix my issues. Now, I come back about an hour or 2 later, to run vista, I get something that says installing something to my registry, and vista blacks out and nothing happens, I restart in safe mode, and it takes forever to load back up. I start running malwarebytes again, and I come back from a phone call, and my computer has restarted back into vista normally and everything is working fine now. So I am confused to hell as what to do.

    I don't have a legit copy of any OS anywhere, except for my Laptop CD which came with XP. I probably need to format, but I am at my wits ends on how to get this damn thing fixed. I am probably going to find a new AV since AVG is sucking balls right now and not finding anything, even though I know something is there.

    So if anyone can help me, please do so. Thanks to anyone who can help, and sorry for the long read.


    Just to add, at one time when I got the task manager to show up, I showed to instances of wuauclt.exe in my process list. One under system, the other one under my name as if I ran the program. I know I have never seen 2 of them before. So any thoughts?
     
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2008
  2. swifthawk
    Veteran Crowfall Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    6
    Its Vista bro. Lol read about vista and it HATES unused processing power, it will use it for 100 things and scale it back as programs in use need it.

    Its perfectly normal sir.

    Unfortunately you fixed something that wasnt broken so...
     
  3. The Cox
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    5,898
    Likes Received:
    13
    lol no. I have 2 partitions on my HD. 1 XP 1 Vista, Vista works perfectly fine. XP is the one giving me the trouble all the time.

    The only way to get my desktop to work, is to boot into the Vista partition.
     
  4. Calypso
    Guest

    http://www.neuber.com/taskmanager/process/wuauclt.exe.html

    Should be fine unless this process has been hijacked by a virus, if which case you should check if there are other instances outside of the System32 folder (though most would be smart and just overwrite the default one).

    Confused about something - if task manager says cpu usage is 0%, what else are you using to check it? Also, are you sure it's not some process that's scheduled to run like anti-virus, anti-malware, or disk defragmenter.
     
  5. The Cox
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    5,898
    Likes Received:
    13
    I have nothing set to run at startup. My computer is a dual core so it usually boots up pretty fast and I can get right into using things. However, as of today, I can open a folder, try and run say malwarebytes or my web browser, and nothing happens. The times I can get my task manager open, I can not force any process to end, and it shows 0% usage. The only thing that is at 99 CPU is the system idle.
     
  6. EF2
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,307
    Likes Received:
    5
    Occupation:
    Media Photographer
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    Vista caches unused memory, not cpu cycles.

    And the OP is confusing so I suggest make screenshots of your task manager and drawing diagrams with arrows and circled items of interest.
     
  7. The Cox
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    5,898
    Likes Received:
    13
    That is the problem. I can not get anything to run under my xp partition at all. I can get about one thing to open at the very beginning if i am fast enough, but that is it. Nothing else.

    My Vista partition which is on my C: drive works perfectly fine as if nothing ever happened to it. My XP partition which is on my D: drive, is the one having the issues.

    I am running a SUPERAnti Spyware program at the moment to see if it catches anything, so far it caught a tracking cookie. But it is still running at the moment.
     
  8. The Cox
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    5,898
    Likes Received:
    13
    I fixed it.

    Apparently AVG 8.0 was the culprit. I went in uninstalled it in safe mode, rebooted, and now it is purring like a charm
     

Share This Page