Fawlers New Upcoming Rig Plz Rate

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Fawler, Sep 5, 2009.

?

What do you think?

  1. Good

    4 vote(s)
    66.7%
  2. Bad

    2 vote(s)
    33.3%
  1. Fawler
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Full-Time Ninja
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    New Egg Item#'s

    HIS Radeon HD 4890 H489FT1GP Video Card - Turbo OC Edition
    Item #:N82E16814161278
    Return Policy: VGA Standard Return Policy


    Antec Skeleton Black Computer Case
    Item #:N82E16811129056

    OCZ ModXStream Pro OCZ500MXSP 500W Power Supply compatible with core i7
    Item #:N82E16817341016



    Crucial 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10600) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory
    Item #:N82E16820148262


    SAMSUNG Spinpoint F3 500GB 3.5" SATA 3.0Gb/s Internal Hard Drive
    Item #:N82E16822152181


    ASUS M4A78T-E ATX AMD Motherboard
    Item #: N82E16813131366


    AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition 3.4GHz Socket AM3 140W Quad-Core Processor
    Item #: N82E16819103692


    Grand Total: $981.40


    What do you think??????
     
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2009
  2. Diranged
    Guest

    Looks good to me.. You might wantto bump the power supply up to a 600 or 650 even, 4890 would use around 230-275'ish watts.. But then that's just me, I'd rather have too many watts then not enough.
     
  3. Areli
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,201
    Likes Received:
    4
    Occupation:
    Govt.
    Location:
    Chicago Il.
    I found that because of upgrades I wanted to make to my rig I had to upgrade my power supply. I agree with Diranged. it looks good but I'd start with more power in case you wanna upgrade some more later.

    oh, and weren't you in agreement with us the other night about ATI and crappy support? kinda figured you'd go with an NVidia chipset...and if you do, then you have to have more wattage.
     
  4. Sirius
    Veteran Crowfall Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,620
    Likes Received:
    1
    Occupation:
    Software developer
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    What operating system are you planning on running? I'm not sure the RAM is quite up to par. If it'll fit 4 GB, it might help for some of the more resource-hungry applications out there.
     
  5. Malfecto
    Guest

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    1
    Occupation:
    Adjunct Instructor
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    No sound card? Using onboard?

    Where's a DVD/CD drive?

    As far as power supply, I always like to get a PSU based on peak power draw for a majority of the main components. Your quick and dirty peak calculation is about 471 Watts, taking into account some aging. That is cutting it really close, and it assumes that the PSU will provide the amps its rated for. Personally, if you oversize the PSU, you can give yourself some room to breathe, not necessarily in watts (nice to have if you are going to "grow" the PC) but in amps as well for the juice hungry Video card and CPU.

    Other than that it is a lot of nice stuff for very little money. What are you doing about warranties? Are you getting any of newegg's warranty addons?
     
  6. Fawler
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Full-Time Ninja
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    Well BR DVD I already have but as far as sound card still havent decided, I plan on doing a XP 64 bit for now intill I see more Win 7 64-bit reviews
     
  7. Vilette
    Guest

    I would go with a 1000 watt power supply, 500 is not big enough, at all.
     
  8. Fawler
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Full-Time Ninja
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    1000w is overkill
     
  9. Sogetsu
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    7,511
    Likes Received:
    3
    Occupation:
    Logistics
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    I'll agree with you on this Fawler.
    At least for now, maybe in the future 1000w will be needed ;]

    My power bill would hate me otherwise.
     
  10. Neptuno
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    2,224
    Likes Received:
    3
    Occupation:
    Watching over 150 nukes sitting in the ground
    Location:
    Montana
    many power supplies operate with power saving modes, so higher wattage doesn't kill your wallet.

    and im liking the case. take a pic when its all put together... would like to see how cool it stays and what not.
     

Share This Page