Computer setup question

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Tal, Sep 9, 2009.

  1. Tal
    Guest

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    1
    Occupation:
    Student, Round Table Pizza
    Location:
    North Bay, Ca
    So my computer came in the mail, but I ordered it without an operating system because a good friend on mine sent me a free copy of windows XP professional (He got like 10 for free as a bonus at his work or something). Since I ordered the computer without an operating system is there anything I need to set up or install before I power it up?

    I want to make sure I'm not turning it on without an important chip or something. I noticed it came with an extra fan, a few extra interior cables (For extra hard drives or whatever) but also some chip thing inside a static safe package. I know a decent amount about computers but not so much the technical side, so help me out here. :)
     
  2. Malkizid
    Guest

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Soon to be college student :D
    Location:
    Napa California
    Well Tal, I know that I did the same exact thing, cept I got mine from a techie friend. What he told me to do was boot it up with the disc in the drive (turn it on, open the drive, put it in, turn it off, turn back on). This should run it and it will start the "installation" process. I air quote that because it's actually a little more heavy duty than regular installation, but still. If this doesn't help I'm sure theres some people on here who are great with comps, or Blainerz and I have some people we can ask that we know... you know where we go so that shud make sense to you :D... and no1 else!!
     
  3. Erock
    Veteran Crowfall Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Messages:
    2,742
    Likes Received:
    21
    Occupation:
    Sales / Hockey
    Location:
    LI, NY , USA
    do exactly that turn on put in cd restart and it will auto start the installation process of windows xp
     
  4. Tal
    Guest

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    1
    Occupation:
    Student, Round Table Pizza
    Location:
    North Bay, Ca
    It's all good I called a friend of mine and he showed me what to do, and I had to set up the bios before I put the disc in
     
  5. Malkizid
    Guest

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Soon to be college student :D
    Location:
    Napa California
    Wait where did u buy a comp from that didnt give u an operating system and made u set up some of the base hardware? unless u ordered it that way to save cash, thats a weird place...
     
  6. Sirius
    Veteran Crowfall Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,620
    Likes Received:
    1
    Occupation:
    Software developer
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    You don't usually need to set up anything in the BIOS before an OS install but there are some exceptions (e.g. if you're trying to install off exotic hardware).
     
  7. Lime
    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,777
    Likes Received:
    37
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Network Engineering
    Location:
    No Where Important
    Sometimes you have change the boot order in the BIOS to make sure it checks the cd drive first before going to the HDD.

    And yes, you can buy barebones comps without OSes to save money.
     

Share This Page