AMD OR INTEL?

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by ({x}) Spectre, Feb 22, 2009.

  1. ({x}) Spectre
    Guest

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    1
    So I didn't get that computer,and got drained for 400$ a set back. I need to know something?AMD is cheaper does that mean its crap,and I should stick with intel Q6700? and mobo? or phenom x4? anyone?

    have to buy this sys part by part,but the less time I have to wait the better. AMD is cheaper,and It would be faster ,but I don't want any slow issues for GTA4 or any of the other FPS games being released soon.
    by the 5th and then the 19th of next month,I hope to get it all together.I'm keeping my 9600gt and power supply,sound card.

    need mobo processor and 4 gig ram
    which one AMD phenomx4 OR INTEL Q6700?


    spec/more help needed.
     
  2. Rubius
    Veteran Xenforcer

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5,043
    Likes Received:
    14
    Occupation:
    Software Engineer
    Location:
    YYZ, Ontario
    Intel
     
  3. Kyoji
    Staff Member Admin

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,197
    Likes Received:
    184
    Location:
    Indiana, U.S.
    i7.
     
  4. Neptuno
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    2,224
    Likes Received:
    3
    Occupation:
    Watching over 150 nukes sitting in the ground
    Location:
    Montana
    yeah, the i7 is better than anything amd has to offer right now.
     
  5. TheEPIC
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,362
    Likes Received:
    3
    The i7 platform is also hella expensive atm... Intel E8500 I say.
     
  6. Sirius
    Veteran Crowfall Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,620
    Likes Received:
    1
    Occupation:
    Software developer
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    I believe the Phenom IIs can pretty easily outmatch a Q6700. If they're in your market you may want to consider them. They don't generally beat i7s, but i7s are more expensive.

    Generally from what I've seen the AMD chips are priced well for the position they're at performance-wise. That's basically how they compete for the meanwhile.
     
  7. Kahne
    Guest

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Columbus, GA
    I've always been an intel guy......

    Intel ------

    u want a quad core or higher.....

    Dual core is like putting neon lights for break lights on your car. just a little crazy(and Illegal in US)....
    quad-core or I7 is like looking at one of those Dodge Challenger's http://www.dodge.com/en/2009/challenger/gallery/

    Shes a beauty........ One of those came up beside me today as i was coming home from barbershop (black dodge challenger)...... I wish i had one.....
    Oh yeah, the challenger will probably be the new car of choice for the Georgia State troopers....... they already use the dodge charger. and they're hot cars too but not challenger hot!!!!
     
  8. The Cox
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    5,901
    Likes Received:
    15
    Gender:
    Female
    I would go with intel.
     
  9. EF2
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,307
    Likes Received:
    5
    Occupation:
    Media Photographer
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    Have you ever seen a game that's sponsored by AMD (not ATI)?
     
  10. confidenceb122
    Guest

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Intel in the long run.
     
  11. Bankey
    Guest

    I've never had any problems with AMD processors.

    I've always made my rigs from scratch, but just recently I broke down and ordered a prebuilt from Cyberpower via NewEgg because it was about 400 bux cheaper than buying the parts and building it myself, and that's with my severely discounted OS situation (My brother works at MS). I went with the Quad Phenom and Xfire setup (works MUCH better in Vistas than it did in XP) and I've been nothing but happy with it. I run Warhammer in full resolution with all effects/shadows turned on and I don't lag even a bit in large RvR situations.
     
  12. Steelcrater
    Guest

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    CSR for the Kroger Co. at the Coporate level
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Intel, they're also the controls of hardware currently, so I would definately go with them.
     
  13. mercsan
    Veteran Crowfall Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,461
    Likes Received:
    0
    Core 2 Duo, E8400.

    You dont get much of a performance boost on the 8500 for the increased price.
     

Share This Page